External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board is a select group of representatives from leading organizations who help to create research and educational programs that address the grand challenges of cyber security. Members of the Board steward the Institute for Information Security & Privacy by providing advice about foundational research that is most needed, the direction of technology in development, tech transfer and startup environments, and through financial support for events and activities. Membership is open to experienced leaders in public or private industry, entrepreneurs, and venture capitalists.


Daniel Barriuso, British Petroleum
Marty Battaglio, Norfolk Southern Railway
Scott Buck, Intel Corp.
Tom Cross, Drawbridge Networks
David Dewey, Pindrop Security
Jamil Farshchi, The Home Depot
Adam Ghetti, Ionic Security Inc.
Guillermo Guerra, Jackson National Life Insurance Co.
Karl Guntow, CyberPoint International
John Marshall, VMware
Michael O'Rierdan, Comcast Corp.
David Scholtz, Damballa Inc.
Monirul Sharif, Google
Tony Spinelli, Fractal Industries, Inc.
Johnson Wu, Alcalvio
Bob Varnadoe, NCR Corp.

Partner with us

Our vision for the future is a powerful one, and it cannot be realized without philanthropic support and engagement from industry.
Individuals or organizations inquiring about support for the Institute may contact:

Christina Pearson
Director - Corporate Relations